Skip to content
Join our Newsletter
Join our Newsletter

Prince George Public Library reveals 36th annual Jeanne Clarke Award nominees

Nine authors chosen
The Prince George Public Library's annual Jeanne Clarke Awards' in-person ceremony in 2018.

The nominees for the 36th annual Jeanne Clarke Awards have been announced by the Prince George Public Library (PGPL). 

The award was established in 1985, in memory of Clarke who was a former chair of the library's board. 

The PGPL says the award is presented to individuals or groups for outstanding contributions in the preservation and promotion of local and regional history in categories of publication and service. 

Previous winners include Exploration Place, Mary Gouchie, the Regional District of Fraser-Fort George (RDFFG), Trelle Morrow and the Prince George Retired Teachers' Association. 

The nominees are as follows: 

  • Highballer: True Tales from a Treeplanting Life by Greg Nolan
  • Service on the Skeena: Horace Wrinch, Frontier Physician by Geoff Mynett
  • Crossing the Divide: Discovering a Wilderness Ethic in Canada's Northern Rockies by Wayne Sawchuk
  • Stagecoach North: A History of Barnard's Express by Ken Mather
  • Stories from the Magic Canoe of Wa'xaid by Cecil Paul, as told to Briony Penn
  • Following the Good River: The Life and Times of Wax'aid by Cecil Paul, as told to Briony Penn
  • Cataline: The Life of BC's Legendary Packer by Susan Smith-Josephy with Irene Bjerky
  • In My Own Moccasins: A Memoir of Resilience by Helen Knott
  • The Brideship Wife by Leslie Howard

Due to COVID-19, the awards will be celebrated in a different format.

The award show will be broadcast on CKPG TV on Sunday, Feb. 21 at 6 p.m. and live-streamed on its website.