Local forester honoured

A Prince George forest industry veteran was bestowed with B.C.'s top honour in the profession.

John Pousette was named the 2019 Forest Professional of the Year by the Association of BC Forest Professionals (ABCFP).

article continues below

"John's career serves as an example of how integrity and commitment are key attributes necessary to achieving real and meaningful success in forestry and ensuring we are sustainably caring for B.C.'s forests for future generations," said Morgan Kennah, ABCFP president.

Pousette works for the Ministry of Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations and Rural Development. According to the announcement, "He was recognized for his professional forestry work and how he engages and influences others. His contributions to the forestry profession are demonstrated in his work and leadership within the Ministry and his ongoing mentoring of many professionals as a sponsoring forester."

Pousette also teaches at UNBC as an adjunct faculty member, and is "renowned for his service and advancement of the forestry profession through his volunteer work" with the Canadian Institute of Forestry-Cariboo Section and the ABCFP.

Another forest professional from the region was also honoured at the ABCFP convention. Jim McLean of Lone Butte was named Registered Forest Technologist of the Year "for his detailed knowledge and understanding of cruising and residue surveying.

"The nomination for McLean spoke of how he freely shares his knowledge in a respectful and professional manner with many forest professionals."

Bob Craven of Campbell River, Carman Smith of Barriere, and Bill Waugh of Bowser were cited as the winners of the Distinguished Forest Professional Award for outstanding contribution to the forestry profession and for furthering the principles of the ABCFP.

Bronwen Beedle of Campbell River and Jamie Skinner from Kamloops shared in the Jim Rodney Memorial Volunteer of the Year Award for their volunteer work with the ABCFP and within their communities.

Rick Chester, a natural resource instructor at BCIT, was made an Honorary Member of the ABCFP for his many years of volunteer work with ABCFP education committees.

The ABCFP Climate Change Innovator Award was presented to eight professionals who worked on the provincial climate-based seed transfer policy, a response designed to ensure that seed matches the current climate and the climate anticipated over the next one third of a rotation.

Those winners were Brian Barber, Leslie McAuley, Diane Nicholls, Greg O'Neill, Jim Snetsinger, Margot Spence, Jack Woods and Susan Zedel.

Read Related Topics


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Prince George Citizen welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. Comments that contain external links will not be permitted. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus
Sign Up For Our e-Newsletter!

Kelly Road poll POLL

Are you in support of the proposed name for the new high school currently under construction in the Hart?

or  view results

Popular Citizen

Community Event Calendar

Find out what's happening in your community and submit your own local events.

Lowest Gas Prices in Prince George
Prince George Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com