Jeanne Clarke Award winners announced Sunday

Jay Sherwood, retired teacher-librarian, was honoured Sunday evening during the Jeanne Clarke Local History Awards, presented by the board of trustees of the Prince George Public Library.

Sherwood received the award for his book Ootsa Lake Odyssey, which delves into the lives of George and Else Seel, who lived about 60 kilometres south of Burns Lake near the small farming settlement of Wistaria from the 1920s until the 1950s, when their property was flooded by the Nechako Reservoir as part of the Alcan project.

article continues below

In its 33rd year, the annual event that recognizes significant contributions in the preservation of local and regional history, recognized 10 authors who were shortlisted this year.

Those authors, along with Sherwood, are:

* Janet Romain who wrote Not My Fate: The Story of a Nisga'a Survivor (2016)

* The Huble Homestead Historic Society (2015) who wrote Mr. Seebach and the New Store

* Trelle Morrow (2016) who wrote Silent Passage: Life With Reaction Ferries

* Kathy Nadalin (2017) who wrote People of Prince George, The Foundation of Our Community

* Robin Barbara (2017) who wrote I Should Have Married a Cowboy

* Jonathan Peyton (2017) who wrote Unbuilt Environments: Tracing Postwar Development in Northwest British Columbia

* Carol Harrison (2017) who wrote Miller Bay Indian Hospital: Life and Work in a TB Sanitorium

* Dianne Hildebrand (2017) who wrote Sunshine and Rhubarb Wine: The Life and Legacy of Bea Dezell

* The Prince George Retired Teachers' Association (2010-2017) who wrote Historical Memories: People, Places, Programs & Services

The publication award went to the Prince George Retired Teachers' Association for their work on a four-part series, Historical Memories, which features all 138 former and present School District 57 schools. The work included the school's history, including programs, activities and enrollment numbers, staff lists, photos of students, teachers and buildings, and shared memories submitted by former staff and students.

The Regional District of Fraser-Fort George (RDFFG) was honoured with the Jeanne Clarke Award for Service for the Golden Raven Discovery Pass.

In partnership with the library, the RDFFG created the pass to provide library cardholders with free access to North Central B.C.'s premier museums, galleries and cultural attractions. Included among the sites are the Exploration Place, Huble Homestead Historic Site, Barkerville Historic Town, Two Rivers Gallery and the Central B.C. Railway & Forestry Museum.

The Jeanne Clarke Memorial Local History Awards are named in honour of long-time Prince George resident Jeanne Clarke, a founding member of the local history committee of the Prince George Public Library.

For more information about the awards and past winners visit

Read Related Topics


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Prince George Citizen welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. Comments that contain external links will not be permitted. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus
Sign Up For Our e-Newsletter!

Popular Citizen

Lowest Gas Prices in Prince George
Prince George Gas Prices provided by