Skip to content
Join our Newsletter
Join our Newsletter

Here’s a quick review of who’s running in Prince George, northern B.C. for the 2020 election

Who will represent our eight regional ridings?
Mount Robson Park - Getty Images
Mount Robson Provincial Park is located about 285 km on Highway 16 east of Prince George. (via Getty Images)

Two more weeks.

That’s how long it is until decision day for B.C.’s 2020 election as voters will head to the polls on or before Saturday, Oct. 24.

Premier John Horgan’s request to drop the writ in the Victoria legislature was approved by Lieutenant Governor Janet Austin on Sept. 21 despite the COVID-19 pandemic.

Candidates were finalized for all participating parties in all 87 ridings on Oct. 2.

Since then, campaigning has taken place province-wide whether that’s virtually or in-person with safe physical-distancing measures.

In case you needed a refresher, the candidates across all eight northern B.C. ridings are as follows (in alphabetical order):


  • Shirley Bond, BC Liberal Party
    • Seeking sixth consecutive term


  • Dee Kranz, Christian Heritage Party of BC
  • Mike Morris, BC Liberal Party
    • Seeking third consecutive term 


  • Margo Maley, Independent
  • Jon Rempel, BC Libertarian Party
  • John Rustad, BC Liberal Party
    • Seeking fifth consecutive term
  • Anne Marie Sam, BC NDP
  • Dan Stuart, Christian Heritage Party of BC


  • Mike Bernier, BC Liberal Party
    • Seeking third consecutive term
  • Kathleen Connolly, BC Conservative Party
  • Cory Grizz Longley, BC NDP
  • Dorothy Sharon Smith, Wexit BC


  • Trevor Bolin, BC Conservative Party
  • Dan Davies, BC Liberal Party
    • Seeking second consecutive term
  • Danielle Monroe, BC NDP


  • Nathan Cullen, BC NDP
  • Darcy Repen, Rural BC Party
  • Gordon Sebastian, BC Liberal Party
  • Rod Taylor, Christian Heritage Party of B.C.


  • Nicole Halbauer, BC NDP
  • Martin Holzbauer, Independent
  • Ellis Ross, BC Liberal Party
    • Seeking second consecutive term


  • Jody Craven, BC Libertarian Party
  • Roy S. Jones Jr., BC Liberal Party
  • Jennifer Rice, BC NDP
    • Seeking third consecutive term

The BC Liberals are currently the incumbents in six of the above ridings.

The ‘big-three’ party-leader debate is upcoming for John Horgan (NDP), Andrew Wilkinson (Liberals) and Sonia Furstenau (Greens), slated for Tuesday (Oct. 13) at 6:30 p.m.

It’s set to be a 90-minute televised event by a combined team of broadcasters.