Skip to content
Join our Newsletter
Join our Newsletter

Advance voting begins for school district byelection in Prince George, Mackenzie

General voting day is on Jan. 15

Advanced voting in the School District No. 57 (SD57) by-election will take place today and again on January 11 at the SD57 main office located at 2100 Ferry Ave.

Polling will be open between 8 a.m. and 8 p.m.

The five candidates running for a position as a Prince George trustee are Andrew Burton, Shannon Freeman, Milton Mahoney, Audrey McKinnon, and Brian Trotter.

Advance voting opportunities are also available in MacKenzie, also today and on Jan. 11 running from 8 a.m. until 8 p.m.

Mackenzie polling stations are located at the District of Mackenzie office at 1 Mackenzie Blvd.

David Szuccko and Rachel Weber are the two candidates running for the Mackenzie seat.

Electors must vote in the Trustee electoral area where they reside and only one vote per elector is allowed.

To be eligible to vote in the SD57 byelection, electors must be 18 years of age, a Canadian citizen, a resident of British Columbia for at least six months prior to voting day and a resident within the voting jurisdiction.

Those wishing to vote do not need to pre-register as registration of all electors for this election will take place at the time of voting.

However, electors will be required to produce two pieces of identification, at least one with a signature, to prove identity.

General voting day is on Jan. 15 between 8 a.m. and 8 p.m. at the following locations in Prince George:

  • Glenview Elementary School, 7310 Cluff Road
  • Heritage Elementary School, 257 Anderson Street,
  • Malaspina Elementary School, 7900 Malaspina Blvd
  • Pineview Elementary School, 8515 Old Cariboo Hwy
  • Van Bien Training Centre, 311 Wilson Crescent

In Mackenzie voting will take place at the District of Mackenzie office.