Skip to content
Join our Newsletter

Meet Jennifer Whiteside, B.C.'s new Minister of Education

Jennifer Whiteside takes her oath of office, virtually, as she's sworn in as the new Minister of Education for British Columbia. (via Screenshot)

New Westminster just got a voice at the cabinet table - and it's a major voice.

Jennifer Whiteside, the rookie NDP MLA just elected in October following the retirement of former New Westminster MLA Judy Darcy, has been sworn in as the minister of education in Premier John Horgan's new cabinet. 

She replaces outgoing minister Rob Fleming at a hot-button time for the education portfolio, with COVID-19 numbers surging and calls growing for further action in schools. 

Fleming remains in cabinet but has moved to the transportation and infrastructure portfolio. Among other major cabinet posts, Adrian Dix remains minister of health. Selina Robinson, MLA for Coquitlam-Maillardville, takes on the finance portfolio, while David Eby (MLA, Vancouver-Point Grey) remains attorney general and adds housing to his responsibilities. (See a full list of cabinet portfolios below.)

The swearing-in took place largely virtually, with Horgan and Lt.-Gov. Janet Austin on hand in Victoria, while MLAs took their oaths of office from their own homes.

The cabinet includes 20 ministers and four ministers of state, with gender representation balanced 12-12. The cabinet will be supported by 13 parliamentary secretaries.

Newly named school board chair Gurveen Dhaliwal has already tweeted out her congratulations to Whiteside, as have other members of the New Westminster school board:





The B.C. Teachers' Federation, which has been lobbying hard for more action to keep schools safe, has also chimed in:


The full list of cabinet ministers is as follows:

Attorney General (and Minister Responsible For Housing): David Eby

  • Parliamentary Secretary - Anti-Racism Initiatives: Rachna Singh

Advanced Education and Skills Training: Anne Kang

  • Parliamentary Secretary - Skills Training: Andrew Mercier

Agriculture, Food and Fisheries: Lana Popham

  • Parliamentary Secretary - Fisheries and Aquaculture: Fin Donnelly

Citizens’ Services: Lisa Beare

Children and Family Development: Mitzi Dean

  • Minister of State for Child Care: Katrina Chen

Education: Jennifer Whiteside

Energy, Mines and Low Carbon Innovation (and Minister Responsible for the Consular Corps of British Columbia): Bruce Ralston

Environment and Climate Change Strategy (and Minister Responsible for Translink): George Heyman

  • Parliamentary Secretary - Environment: Kelly Greene

Finance: Selina Robinson

  • Parliamentary Secretary - Gender Equity: Grace Lore

Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations and Rural Development: Katrine Conroy

  • Minister of State for Lands, Natural Resource Operations: Nathan Cullen
  • Parliamentary Secretary - Rural Development: Roly Russell

Health (and Minister Responsible for Francophone Affairs): Adrian Dix

  • Parliamentary Secretary - Seniors Services and Long Term Care: Mable Elmore

Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation: Murray Rankin

Jobs, Economic Recovery and Innovation: Ravi Kahlon

  • Minister of State for Trade: George Chow
  • Parliamentary Secretary - Technology and Innovation: Brenda Bailey

Labour: Harry Bains

  • Parliamentary Secretary - New Economy: Adam Walker

Mental Health and Addictions: Sheila Malcolmson

Municipal Affairs: Josie Osborne

Public Safety and Solicitor General: Mike Farnworth

  • Parliamentary Secretary - Emergency Preparedness: Jennifer Rice

Social Development and Poverty Reduction: Nicholas Simons

  • Parliamentary Secretary - Community Development and Non-Profits: Niki Sharma
  • Parliamentary Secretary - Accessibility: Dan Coulter

Tourism, Arts, Culture and Sport: Melanie Mark

  • Parliamentary Secretary - Arts and Film: Bob D'Eith

Transportation and Infrastructure: Rob Fleming

  • Minister of State for Infrastructure: Bowinn Ma